Past and PresentReefer

MV Spring Deli – Cargo from the Past

IMO Number: 8220424

MV Spring Deli

Ex Spring Delight

© Cees Bustraan

Spring Deli – © Cees Bustraan (Willemstad, 05/10/2007)

Steel single screw “Spring Class” motor vessel, built in 1984 by Korea Shipbuilding & Engineering Corp, Busan (Yard No. 1022), as a Refrigerated Cargo ship.

Technical Data

  • Length: 152.30 m (overall) 143.65 m (between perpendiculars)
    Breadth: 24.0 m
    Depth: 13.42 m
    Draught: 8.6 m
    Tonnage: 12783 gross/4245 net/9891t deadweight
    Engines: 6-cylinder Hyundai Engine & Machinery 6L67GBE diesel
    Power: 7679 kW/10440 bHP
    Speed: 18 knots (max)
    Capacity: 12830m³ (Bales), 290 x 20 ft (containers)
    Call Sign: VRBT, PJFF
    IMO Number: 8220424
    Official Number: 706820
    Port of Registry: Hong Kong/UK, Monrovia/Liberia, Willemstad/Netherlands Antilles
    Sister-Ship: Spring Blossom (I) (1055), Spring Blossom (2) (1056), Spring Bird (1057), Spring Breeze (2283), Spring Bride (2285), Spring Desire (1023), Spring Dream (I) (271)


“One of eight similar “Spring Class”, built at four different shipyards, each having a capacity of 430,000 cu ft “.

May 2nd 1983: Keel laid.

August 31st 1983: Launched.

February 1984: Completed as SPRING DELIGHT.

© Ingvar © Capt Jan Melchers

Spring Delight – © Capt Jan Melchers (Left) © Ingvar (Rotterdam, Sept 1987) (Right)

1992: Registered owner: Spring Delight. Manager; E, Jacob.

© Simonwp

Spring Delight – © Simonwp (Terneuzen, 01/06/2000)

Spring Delight – Courtesy of Chris Howell

2002: Unknown owner and manager.

2002: Registered owner; Spring Delight, Manager; E, Jacob.

2003: Registered manager; Seatrade Groningen. Renamed SPRING DELI.

2004: Registered owner; Spring Deli Shipping Co B.V.

2007: Registered owner: B.V. Shipping Company “Spring Deli”. Manager: Seatrade Groningen B.V.

© Nigel Thornton © Nigel Thornton

© Nigel Thornton  © Nigel Thornton

© Nigel Thornton

Spring Deli – © Nigel Thornton (Dover, 24/01/2007)

© Gerolf Drebes © Gerolf Drebes 

Spring Deli – © Gerolf Drebes (Elbe, 05/09/2007)

© Wil Weijsters © Wil Weijsters 

Spring Deli – © Wil Weijsters (Rotterdam, 29/04/2010)

June 4th 2012: Arrived at Yazici Gemi Sokum, Aliaga and scrapped at 345 $ per ton.

© Selim San

Spring Deli – 🆕 © Selim San

© Petros Psarras © Petros Psarras 

Spring Deli – © Petros Psarras

All information is believed to be correct and no responsibility is accepted for any errors or omissions. All items included in this article are subject to © copyright. We would like to take this opportunity of thanking: Cees Bustraan, Gerolf Drebes, Chris Howell, Ingvar, Capt Jan Melchers, Petros Psarras, Selim San, Simonwp and Wil Weijsters for their assistance in producing this feature.

Article © Nigel Thornton and Ray Goodfellow (Dover Ferry Photos Group).


Back to top button