Cargo from the PastPast and Present

MV Autoroute – Cargo from the Past

MV Autoroute

© Patrick Hill

© Patrick Hill

Steel single screw motor vessel built in 1979 by Mitsui Tamano Engineering & Shipbuilding, Japan (Yard No 1197) as a Vehicle Carrier

Technical Data

  • Length:¬†99.9 m (overall) 94.0 m (between perpendiculars)
  • Breadth: 17.40¬†m
  • Depth: 14.61¬†m
  • Draught: 4.12¬†m (summer)
  • Tonnage:¬†2462 – 7114 gross/721 – 2134 net/1894t deadweight
  • Engines: 1 x 4SA 6 cylinder Mitsui 6L.42M diesel
  • Power: 3310 kW/4500 bHP
  • Speed:¬†14.5 knots (service)
  • Capacity: 670 –¬†695 import cars
  • Call Sign:¬†CBCL, CQSY
  • IMO Number:¬†7822079
  • Official Number: 388175 (LR 1992 – 93)
  • Port of Registry:¬†London/United Kingdom, Grimstad/Norway, Madeira/Portugal


1970: A joint venture was formed between Höegh and Ugland which shaped Höegh-Ugland Auto Liners (HUAL).

July 1979: Launched as the AUTOROUTE.

October 1979: Completed.

© Phil English

© Phil English

@ 1984 – 85: Registered Owner; Ugland Brothers Ltd. Registered Manager; Aall Shipping Co. Ltd.

© Simonwp   © Ken Larwood

© Simonwp (left) and Ramsgate 1990 © Ken Larwood (right)

© Derek Sands

© Derek Sands

1990: United European Car Carriers was founded.

@ 1992: Registered Owner; Ugland Brothers Ltd. Registered Manager; United European Car Carriers (U.K.) Ltd.

© Ted Ingham   © Ted Ingham

© Ted Ingham   © Ted Ingham

© Ted Ingham (Ramsgate)

March 2000: Leif Höegh & Co acquired the other 50% of HUAL and five years later it was renamed to Höegh Autoliners.

© Willem Oldenburg

© Willem Oldenburg

 © Hans Deijs   © Hans Deijs

© Hans Deijs

© Manuel Hernández Lafuente  © Manuel Hernández Lafuente

© Manuel Hernández Lafuente

August 17th 2009: Broken up in Aliaga.

All information is believed to be correct and no responsibility is accepted for any errors or omissions. All items included in this article are subject to © copyright. We would like to take this opportunity of thanking: Hans Deijs, Phil English, Manuel Hernández Lafuente, Patrick Hill, Ted Ingham, Willem Oldenburg and Derek Sands for their assistance in producing this feature.

Article © Nigel Thornton and Ray Goodfellow (Dover Ferry Photos Group)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button