© Ken LarwoodCategory Archive Listing:

Sealink Dieppe Ferries

Sealink Dieppe Ferries was a ferry company operating from Dieppe to Newhaven.  The Dieppe to Newhaven route had been operated as a joint service between SNCF and Sealink UK but following the privatisation of Sealink British Ferries in 1984 the British announced their withdrawal from the service. In the Spring of 1986 SNCF formed a subsidiary company called Dieppe Ferries to manage the future of the Dieppe to Newhaven service. This company traded under the Sealink umbrella as Sealink Dieppe Ferries. Following the sale of Sealink British Ferries to Stena Line in 1990 the SNCF reorganised its ferry division creating the Société Nouvelle d’Armement Transmanche (SNAT). SNAT were responsible for managing both the Dieppe-Newhaven service and  the interests of SNCF in the Dover-Calais pooling agreement with Sealink Stena Line. Following significant losses and severe industrial unrest SNAT announced that the Dieppe to Newhaven service would close at the end of April 1992. The route was reprieved when purchased by Sealink Stena Line in May 1992.

© Andreas Wörteler

MV Seafrance Manet – Past and Present

MV Poeta López Anglada – ex Daniya, Stena Navigator, Seafrance Manet, Stena Parisien, Champs Elysees – Steel twin screw motor vessel, built in 1984 by Chantiers Dubigeon S.A., Prairie-au-Duc, Nantes, France (Yard No. 167) for Societe des Nationale des Chemins de Frances as a roll-on roll-off car and commercial vehicle ferry. Engined by Chantiers de l’Atlantique, St. Nazaire.

Mv Seafrance Monet - Past and Present

Mv Seafrance Monet – Past and Present

MV Volcan de Tacande, ex Seafrance Monet, Stena Londoner, Versailles, Stena Nautica – Steel twin screw motor vessel built by Brodogradiliste Jozo Lozovina Mosor, Trogir, Yugoslavia in 1974 (Yard No. 163) for Stena Ab, Göteborg as a roll-on roll-off car and commercial vehicle ferry